Search Events By

Masterworks - A German Requiem

The CSO Chorus with guest soloists, Cheyanne Coss and Jeffrey Gates, join the orchestra to perform Johannes Brahms' A German Requiem, last performed in 2011 by the CSO Chorus and CSO in memory of long-time music director David Stahl.

The Requiem is a work of consolation for mourners left behind and the central work of Brahms' lifelong musical endeavor, combining the vocal and the symphonic. Franz Schubert's Symphony in B minor, known as "Unfinished", is finished in the best sense as it is exquisitely balanced, broadly conceived, and gloriously inspired.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Symphony in B minor, D. 759 "Unfinished"
I. Allegro moderato
II. Andante con moto

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Ein Deutches Requiem, Op. 45
1. Chorus: "Selig sind die da Leid tragen"
2. Chorus: "Denn alles Fleisch es ist wie Gras"
3. Solo & Chorus: "Herr, lehre doch mich"
4. Chorus: "Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen"
5. Solo & Chorus: "Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit"
6. Solo & Chorus: "Denn wir haben hie"
7. Chorus: "Selig sind die Toten"


Event has passed


The Gaillard Center
95 Calhoun St





Sign Up To Access Favorites

Login to Access Your Favorites

No Account Yet? Sign Up & Plan Your Trip


Share Your Favorites


Would you like a free, 240 page, full color Charleston Visitors Guide mailed to your home?

Published annually, the official Charleston Visitors Guide is full of gorgeous photography, insider tips, maps, and resources to help you plan your Charleston vacation.

No, thanks. Yes, please! ×